Not Found

The requested document was not found on this server.

Web Server at

Lee Chapel MAT Board 

Members and Trustees (4 + 9 Structure)

Outstanding Success through Partnership


Mr Craig O’Callaghan 

Member & Chair of Board

Mr O’Callaghan is Chief Operating Officer at the University of London.  His role involves leading an operational service delivery to 54,000 students across the world.  He has been working in education for the past 27 years and has operational, technological, legal and financial experience.  Craig holds a BA in Humanities and has an MSc in Politics and Administration from Birkbeck College.

Mrs Megan Jenkins 

Ryedene Primary School & Nursery

Megan retired in 2013 as Headteacher of a local Primary School.  Megan has experience as an Associate School Development Adviser for Essex Local Authority which complements her current role supporting Governing Bodies and Chairs of Governors across the county and beyond. Megan has a MEd degree from the University of Cambridge. 

Mr Mike Smith 

 Northlands Primary School & Nursery

Vice Chair of Board

Mike is committed to making a difference and believes that the pupils should be at the centre of all planning and decision making. Mike supports strong leadership and management as he feels they underpin successful teaching and learning and he is proud to have led a skilled and highly motivated governing body through the transition to becoming a Primary school.  The excellent team work forged with the Headteacher and Senior Leaders provides a sound basis for academy status and the exciting opportunities that lay ahead for pupils, staff and parents.

Prior to retirement, Mike had two successful careers, one in psychiatry and a second more recently in human resources, having worked for the NHS in a London borough and in Essex.  His core skills therefore, lie in personnel management, facilitation and human behaviour.  When not attending to school business, Mike spends much of his time with his family, playing golf, and league table tennis.

Sandy  Tomlinson

Chair of Finance & Audit Committee Appointed to the Trust in June 2019.

Mrs Tomlinson was appointed to the Trust in June 2019 and is a School Business Operations Consultant who has worked in Education over 7 years  and has over twelves years experience as a school governor in both primary and secondary sectors.  She has experience in Financial, Project and Facilities Management, Human Resources, Health & Safety and Procurement.  


Susan (Sue) Jackson

Chief Executive Officer 

Sue is the overall lead for the academies within the Trust.  Working closely with the DfE, Regional Schools Commissioner and the Heads of Academies, her specific focus is to ensure that the Trust's strategies are realised.

Sue is a National Leader of Education and a trained Ofsted Inspector. Headteacher of Lee Chapel Primary (a National Support and Teaching School) for the past 22 years during which time she has, together with her ‘team’, supported schools across the Local Authority in her capacity as a school based Development Adviser, executive Headteacher of OFSTED category schools and a Leadership coach and new Headteacher mentor.

Michael Betteridge 

Now retired but previously a Director of a Theatre Company.

Mike’s strengths are in business management and PR. He is analytical and is able to identify, assess and review key performance indicators. He is a local resident with a long-standing relationship with Lee Chapel as his children attended the school and now his Grandchildren currently attend. Since retiring Mr Betteridge has become heavily involved in devising and organising school drama performances and theatre workshops for Primary pupils across Essex.

Dermot Kavanagh 

Vice Chair of Finance & Audit Committee and Chair of Lee Chapel Primary School & Nursery

Dermot is a qualified Financial Manager, experienced in building relationships in the commercial sector, who manages the office at a local firm of Solicitors dealing with the financial aspects of the firm. Experience gained from working for and with a range of companies and providing bespoke advice for a variety of organisations has proved useful to the board. has. Mr Kavanagh is customer focused, analytical and an effective communicator who prioritises the customer experience to ensure a world class service.

Steve Robson 

Over 30 years’ experience of working within the retail trade as a Company Director. 

He has proven financial, marketing and personnel experience and an understanding in business principles.  Steve is currently working as a sport Groundsman and is actively involved in all aspects of school premises management, Health, Safety and Safeguarding at Greensted Junior School.

Roderick Pollington 

Chair of Governors Greensted Infant School & Nursery

Appointed to the Trust in October 2018. 

Grace Olugbodi

Chair of Governors Phoenix Primary School & Nursery

Appointed as Phoenix Chair of Governors October 2018 

 Roy Roberts

Chair of Governors Ryedene Primary School & Nursery

Appointed as Ryedene Chair of Governors October 2020 

Ian Randle

Chair of Governors Northlands Primary School & Nursery

Appointed as Northlands Chair of Governors October 2020 

Mrs Victoria Carter (Company Secretary)  

Mrs Ann Burrows (Chief Financial Officer )

Mrs  Elizabeth Cornelius  (Human Resources Manager) 

Our Schools